ADSIS




Alternative Delivery of Specialized Instructional Services (ADSIS)


WHAT IS ADSIS? ADSIS is an intervention program in the middle and high schools started in 2015 through a grant from MDE.  With the grant, Pine Island was able to hire three licensed teachers, two paraprofessionals, purchase online curriculum and other materials.  ADSIS serves students who are below grade level standards in reading, math and/or behavior.  ADSIS is a temporary safe haven for qualifying students to help them get back up to grade level standards without having to look at special education as a first alternative.  ADSIS works on the specified reading, math and/or behavioral skills that a student is missing and fills in those gaps with intervention.

HOW DOES A STUDENT QUALIFY FOR ADSIS? Students are referred to ADSIS through inter-district problem solving committees which are based on teacher referrals. Potential ADSIS students must have shown a history of being below grade level in reading, math and/or behavior.  There are no parent referrals to ADSIS. WHO ARE THE ADSIS STAFF?

ADSIS Coordinator Patrick Gordon   pgordon@pineisland.k12.mn.us High School ADSIS Academic Staff TEACHER:  Monte Imming   mimming@pineisland.k12.mn.us PARAPROFESSIONAL:  Katie Lenn  klenn@pineisland.k12.mn.us

Middle School ADSIS Academic Staff TEACHER:  Shannon Kelley  skelley@pineisland.k12.mn.us PARAPROFESSIONAL:  Anita Hunskor  ahunskor@pineisland.k12.mn.us

Middle/High School ADSIS Behavior Staff STUDENT SUCCESS COUNSELOR:  Brittany Thue  bthue@pineisland.k12.mn.us


HOW DOES ADSIS WORK? For the academic program, middle school students report to the ADSIS room during flex time while high school students report during their study hall.  While in ADSIS, students get intervention help in a multiple ways: in small groups, online using the Pathblazers curriculum, and one to one.  ADSIS students can use the ADSIS room throughout the day to get additional help with homework, tests read to them, a quiet place for test-taking, additional help with organization, tracking assignments, and any other needs that arise.  High school students get an elective credit for participating in ADSIS. For the behavior program, students meet with the student success counselor at various times during the week on an appointment working on needed social/behavioral skills. The student success counselor also intervenes with the students during times of crisis and work on building success with each individual.
WHAT CURRICULUM DOES ADSIS USE? For the academic program, the ADSIS students use an online program called Pathblazers by Compass Learning (https://compasslearning.com/pathblazer/).  In addition, each teacher embeds other subject level research based interventions. For the behavior program, the ADSIS Student Success Counselor uses individualized research based interventions specific to the student’s needs. In addition a research based program called Check and Connect from the University of Minnesota (http://checkandconnect.umn.edu/) is used as well.
HOW LONG IS A STUDENT IN ADSIS? There is no set timeframe or date for how long a student is in ADSIS. Data is tracked and once a student is back to grade level in reading, math and/or behavior they are then graduated from the program. Students are typically exited from the program at natural breaks such as end of quarter/semester/year. If a parent wants a student exited from ADSIS, they need to contact the ADSIS coordinator to fill out the necessary paperwork.
Should you have any further questions please don’t hesitate to contact Patrick Gordon, Director of Student Support Services, at 507-356-3210 or pgordon@pineisland.k12.mn.us


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.